Guest Reviews

See over 200 more reviews at Trip Advisor, AirBnb, Booking.com & Facebook.

It was a great stay. The characterization that the house was restored and rehab’d, was on the mark. I enjoyed the feeling of staying in an old home. The neighborhood was becoming gentrified but felt very safe. We are looking to relocate to Asheville and feel that we could live in that specific neighborhood. The location to downtown was great, had the weather been nicer we would have walked downtown.

Scott met us at the door and was a wonderful host in this very cool house. Great location too! You can be downtown in a very short walk. Will stay here again, if they have any vacancies! This is a cool spot to hang your hat, very Asheville

Scott was a wonderful host! The house was beautiful and we enjoyed our stay in the Aunt Betsy room. We loved the history of the Rankin house and can only image all of the stories that happened within the walls. My husband loved the local beer Scott offered when we arrived. That was a nice touch. Reading about Scott on the front page of the local paper was fun. We hope to return sometime in the future.

We had a lovely 3 night stay at this inn. Scott is the proprietor/manager. We stayed in the James Eugene room, which had a private entrance and bath. It also had a small fireplace and the room was plenty warm. The bed was comfortable; a dresser, chairs and table were provided; wifi was free; and there was plenty of hot water in the shower. The serve-yourself muffins, fruit, yogurt and cereal were plentiful, as was the 24-hour Keurig coffee service. The drinks in the frig and the snacks on the table were more than the usual. Scott was very knowledgeable about local businesses and restaurants and provided information freely, and was also more than helpful in other ways: We needed an iron to press a shirt for a special occasion and he provided one, and he also dropped us off downtown one evening rather than have us walk in the rain. The location is terrific and the neighborhood is very nice, mostly residential in the immediate vicinity, but nice small businesses nearby. The cats that were mentioned in the description are no longer in the house. There are a few around the porch area. Scott says he works with rescue groups and actively seeks homes for homeless cats. They didn’t bother us in the slightest. All in all, ours was a very nice experience, and I would recommend the Rankin House Inn to any couple or single.

Scott is a dynamic and affable host. He warmed up the place for us and made sure we had an enjoyable stay. I highly recommend staying at Rankin House.

We had an absolutely wonderful experience at the Rankin House Inn! Scott was a generous host – he stocked the kitchen with plenty of baked goods, coffee, local craft beer, and wine, and he made sure all of our needs were taken care of. The house is beautiful and charming, filled with rich history, yet still had all the modern amenities to make us comfortable. Its location is fantastic – you can walk everywhere in downtown Asheville. We were a group of 5 couples and we booked the entire house, which was perfect. Each room is quiet and private, while there were plenty of common area spaces for us to share meals and hang out as a group. We have found our new favorite place in Asheville, and we will definitely be back!

What an experience! This was our first time using AirBNB, and it could not have been better! My husband and I chose to spend a long weekend in Asheville before heading to Roanoke for a business trip. We arrived at 8 PM on Friday, where we met and immediately became friends with Scott. His attention to detail and aim to make us comfortable were immaculate. He had the refrigerator full of beer and wine and was quick to recommend hip spots around town so that we might experience Asheville in its fullest. The inn was warm, comfortable, and perfectly private. We were within walking distance of downtown, although we opted for the $5 uber ride because it was FREEZING. No recommendations on how this trip could possibly have been better; thank you, Scott, for making this trip perfectly memorable! We look forward to seeing you again when we can enjoy to patio!

Our group had the whole house was great to be all together. Wonderful hospitality and attention by the host. It was a great experience to step back in time to the 1840’s living with modern conveniences.

This was our first time using Airbnb and it completely exceeded our expectations. We had the entire house as lifetime friend couples and the experience really couldn’t have been better. Scott was an incredible host being very easy to talk to, knowledgeable of everything in the area and extremely attentive to details making us feel welcome and comfortable. He knew we were there to experience the local craft beer scene and fun tasty dining and gave us excellent recommendations on both. He stocked the refrigerator with samples of craft beer and more than enough tasty breakfast and snacks We became friends during the first conversation with him and look forward to seeing him again. The house is in a perfect location for what we wanted, close walking distance to downtown and is in a quiet area with other beautiful older homes. The inside was perfect with character, interesting decorations and privacy with every room. There was plenty of room indoors for all of us to hang out together and we spent a lot of time out on the large porches as well. We plan to return Rankin House Inn to do it again and obviously highly recommend it

The Rankin House was a lovely place and exactly what we were looking for. The location is perfect to all the best places in Asheville and an easy walk in to town. The house was cute and comfortable. Scott was a great host. He was welcoming and fun to talk to. We will definitely stay here again!

We stayed three wonderful nights at the Rankin House and loved every minute of it. This historic home has been beautifully restored. We stayed upstairs in the main house in the Squire Billy room the first night, then around back in Aunt Betsy’s room the last two nights. Both rooms had their own unique charm. The location could not have been better; quiet yet easy walking distance to downtown. Our host Scott was very accommodating and generous with his well-stocked kitchen. We will definitely stay at the Rankin House again; just wish we could do so next week!

We loved staying at Rankin House and can’t wait to return. It was peaceful and welcoming. We slept great and enjoyed morning coffee on the big front porch or on the stone patio in the back. It was also a lovely 10 minute walk to downtown (through a neighborhood full of blooming flowers!) for the food, beer, and entertainment. Scott was a wonderful host to us and went above and beyond to accommodate our travel plans.

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3-night stay at the Rankin House Inn in Asheville. Scott was a fabulous host and struck the perfect balance between hospitality and privacy. We met a wonderful couple from Malaysia who were also house hunting and enjoyed many conversations with them on the back deck over wine and water. LOVED walking into town for dinner. Also – the house is so eclectic with interesting antiques and garden adornments. We even enjoyed the neighbor’s cat, with the quirky name of Chicken Pie. THANK YOU Scott for a marvelous visit!

We booked our stay for a business retreat and received the space, privacy and hospitality of staying at someone’s personal home! Naomi was a most gracious host, anticipating all of our needs. This beautiful historic home had all the modern amenities you could imagine while maintaining the authenticity of a historic home in Montford Park. I highly recommend this listing to everyone and we plan to come back next year. Many thanks for a wonderful stay!

June 2015

We had an excellent stay at the Rankin House Inn. The inn met or exceeded all our expectations. The inn was quiet and well maintained. It possessed the historic charm we were looking for. There was plenty of space for us all to spread out and relax, as well as offering great areas for us all to gather. Scott is a fantastic host. Scott made sure we were settled and well stocked at the Inn upon our arrival. He is friendly and polite, answered our questions, and offered good suggestions for things to do that would compliment our vacation in Asheville. I highly recommend the Rankin House, and look forward to returning to Asheville.

June 2015

The Rankin House was a perfect place to stay for our first visit to Asheville. The location is ideal–less than 10 minutes to walk to central downtown–and Scott was incredibly welcoming. Our room, the James Eugene, felt like a cozy summer cottage, with easy/direct access outside and to the peaceful, enclosed courtyard. Scott provided coffee and breakfast options, but we were free to enjoy them at our leisure, which worked perfectly for our unpredictable schedule. Would love to come back and stay for longer.

The Rankin House in was absolutely beautiful and a fascinating piece of history. I stayed in the Aunt Betsy room, which was cozy and well-decorated. Scott was a gracious and friendly host with many great suggestions about where to visit. Asheville is a beautiful place, and I hope I can return for longer next time!

June 2015

Host was very accommodating and available by phone to enable check in whenever we arrived in town. Helpful in providing any info on the area. Very generous in providing coffee, drinks and breakfast foods freely available in the kitchen. Room was as advertised… Greatly enjoyed the private entrance off the back porch. The back porch area is lovely with a water garden and places to sit, relax and read. Room was well maintained and very comfortable. Neighborhood very nice, we were on the north side of downtown and were able to walk to many places of interest. Thank you.

June 2015

I visited the Rankin House Inn with my best friend for the July 4th holiday weekend, and Scott made us feel very welcomed from the moment we stepped inside! The beautiful breakfast spread and free beer and wine for happy hour were great touches. I especially loved the different porches and seating outside. The house is in a nice residential area very close to downtown. I would definitely stay there again!

Rankin House was a great place for our family reunion! Plenty of room, comfortable beds, and several fantastic porches on which to gather. Perfect location too—just close enough to downtown but in a lovely leafy neighborhood.

July 2015

My husband and I had a great stay at the Rankin House Inn! The house is in a friendly neighborhood, just across the bridge from the restaurants, cafes and bars in downtown Asheville (and, more importantly, a five minute drive from river tubing!). It was pretty cool staying in the house of a former mayor of Asheville. The house is well-appointed, with games in the front room and a fully stocked kitchen. I only wish we had planned to stay more than one night, so we could have enjoyed everything that this house has to offer!

Our group had a wonderful weekend at the Rankin House Inn. We rented the entire house, and Naomi made sure that we had anything we needed. She was available at all times and made sure we knew when she stepped out. She made sure we had maps of Asheville and gave recommendations for our beer tasting expeditions. We’re ready to come back next year! We were pleasantly surprised that the bedrooms were air conditioned and the beer/snacks/breakfast/drinks were a huge plus for our group. A short 5-10 minute walk to downtown was awesome! We spent most of our time on the porches and loved getting to know the neighborhood cat. Very safe neighborhood. We had such a great time that re-entry into the real world has been an adjustment.

Four beautiful porches…and no time to enjoy them! So much to see in Ashville….Scott was very gracious and made us feel very welcome.

July 2015

Our hosts were great! They offered great recommendations on where to eat and we had several long conversations with them. Breakfast was serve yourself, which was just what we wanted as we were out the door early each day to explore the area. There was always beer, wine and snacks available. We couldn’t have felt more welcome. The room was perfect: lots of the old character but meticulously clean and suitably updated. The B&B was a five minute walk from downtown. All in all, this was a fabulous experience and we will be staying at Rankin House again if we return to Asheville.

Scott was a great host, and his friendly charming air is reflected in the feel of the house. He was immediately engaging and genuine in his desire to assure we enjoyed our time in Asheville. We loved the style of the home. Multiple periods and styles of furniture and decor made the space feel timeless and cozy, like visiting a (somewhat bohemian) grandparent. There is an energy about the place that suggests that plenty of good living has been done here, most of it joyous (maybe even a tiny bit rowdy), and sometimes quiet and contemplative, but always comfortable. That feeling sets this place apart from other similar properties. Some folks have an expectation that a BnB stay should include a fancy chef-prepared breakfast. For us, the simple fresh continental breakfast Scott laid out to start the day was perfect. We will be back.

August 2015

Let me start by saying I don’t believe my group is the typical group that Scott sees. We were 9 guys that were on a bachelor party. Purely choose the place because of the beds available and location. The location and house was ideal and gorgeous. It was an easy walk to downtown Ashville and the house so many wonderful porches to gather on. Secondly, Scott was an amazing host. Was never in our way and we wouldn’t even have noticed his presence if it wasn’t for the wonderful breakfasts he cooked, snacks he left and his remarkable ability to show up when we needed recommendations. I honestly cannot recommend this place enough for all who might consider it.

We love dour stay at the Rankin House Inn! We stayed in the Walter Bearden room which had a lot of room and a king sized bed. Scott and Susan were perfect hosts and provided us with a nice breakfast every morning, snacks and drinks for our daily travel, directions and recommendations for excellent places to eat and were friendly and accommodating. The house is lovely and on the National Registry of Historic Places! It’s a great place for a family reunion, so we’ll probably be back with a group!

Will definitely be staying at the Rankin House again! The location was ideal since it was so close to downtown and we didn’t have to drive anywhere. The house was just perfect! Scott immediately welcomed us when we arrived and showed us to our room. The refrigerator was fully stocked with snacks & beer. The next morning we woke up to so many breakfast options including bagels, fruit, yogurt and a cheese and ham casserole! Could not have asked for a better host!

What an amazing home! The location was a quick 7 minute walk to downtown Asheville. You can’t beat it. Our suite was as described and the overall look of the home was beautiful. Scott provided great breakfasts and evening snacks. I would absolutely recommend this location to my friends and family!

I had a great experience at the Rankin House Inn. They worked with me to get the key, as I was later than anticipated getting there. The room was lovely and the porch off the side was a nice welcoming place to sit and read. The wine and beer offering was nice on arrival and in the morning, the breakfast casserole was fantastic! Very laid back atmosphere and beautiful historic home.

Our stay at Rankin House Inn really complimented our time in Asheville. We really couldn’t have ended up in a better spot! It’s such a warm space & you can really feel at home here! The amenities were great, but it was really Scott’s hospitality that made it a memorable stay. Thanks so much, Scott, for having us- we hope to make it back soon!

September 2015

Can’t recommend this place enough. I was in town for a wedding with a group of friends and we rented the whole B & B. Scott is super friendly and made our stay really comfortable and enjoyable. The home is beautiful and impeccably kept up, with gorgeous details everywhere and great porches for coffee sippin’. My only wish is that we could have spent some more time at the house itself; it’s an incredible place to relax and wind down. No more than a 10 min walk from downtown and easily accessible from the highways into town. Thanks Scott!

We rented the whole house for the weekend. The Rankin House Inn is beautiful. The house is well maintained, very clean and the rooms are lovely. Scott was fantastic, he was available 24/7 and was able to answer all our questions. It was super easy to get downtown, either walking or via Uber. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and would have no hesitation recommending the place, looking forward to visiting again soon!

October 2015

The house is just as quaint and beautiful as the photos would suggest! We had 9 people staying here for a friend’s wedding that was in Asheville in late October. Everything was in close walking distance, or a short Uber ride away (since it got a bit cold). Scott was SO lovely and accommodating. He left out breakfast for us every morning, as well as cookies and snacks at night, and plenty of beer and wine. Scott made us feel totally comfortable and answered any questions we had, but he also let us do our thing and didn’t hover. Know that this is a very old house, so not everything will be in 100% perfect condition — but that is part of the charm of the house. Everything that needed to work, did. My fiancee and I stayed in the Aunt Betsy room (which, note, you can only access from outside or walking through the bathroom on the 2nd floor) and we loved having the microwave, heater, and private bathroom. Thank you, Scott, for making our Asheville stay so memorable! If we ever come back, we will be sure to stay here. So much old world charm.

November 2015

The Rankin House Inn is SUCH a treasure. It’s the oldest wooden house in Asheville, and has been restored to its original glory with such love and care. Scott is a wonderful host – his breakfast spread was out of this world, and he was so accommodating to our dietary restrictions. I enjoyed a luxurious bath in the clawfoot tub and slept like a baby on the memory foam mattress!

Although this suite was listed on air bnb, the two rooms are actually part of an absolutely lovely bed and breakfast. The frame house is gorgeous on the inside and has a large balcony and front porch. Scott, the manager, made a great breakfast every morning and he was nothing but gracious and amiable. Beers stocked in the fridge, cookies every night and fruit in the mornings! The bed and breakfast is also in a really beautiful historic neighborhood and it’s easy to walk downtown. I can’t recommend the rankin house inn enough. The two rooms we had shared a bathroom that was a good size and had a nice tub/shower. The rooms themselves were really spacious and there were electric fireplaces in each of our rooms. And the guests themselves were also really friendly and chatty! The only warning I would offer is that parking can be a little tricky if you’re planning on driving some sort of big van or SUV and parking it behind the house. We managed to navigate it just fine with a car, but I can see it being a bit tricky with a larger car.

The Rankin House was great! Scott was very welcoming and a great host. He prepared a great breakfast every morning and had plenty of snacks and drinks available at any time. My wife and I were able to walk to the down town area easily and felt very safe in the area. I would recommend this place to anyone staying in Asheville!

Our stay at Rankin House was great. Scott was very hospitable. Hot breakfast was provided each morning. It was a great place to stay for a family wedding. We enjoyed having the Inn all to ourselves. Perfect location.

Our stay at the Rankin House was absolutely wonderful. We came for the weekend to celebrate my mother’s 70th birthday and my mother, sister, niece and I shared the 2 bedroom suite. The beds were extremely comfortable and the rooms were large and beautiful with pretty fireplaces. The house was lovely and we felt so at home during our stay. Breakfast each morning was fantastic and they had everything we needed and more, including a refrigerator with complimentary drinks and snacks for guests. The house was located just a few minutes from Downtown Asheville, so very centrally located and just a short drive or walk to everywhere we wanted to visit. The innkeeper, Scott, was great and so easy (and fast!) to communicate with. We can’t say enough good things about our stay. We will definitely be coming back soon!

The Inn provided an authentic Ashevillian experience and what’s more is located a very short walking distance from the heart of town.Fred beautifully restored Asheville’s oldest house to a warm and comfortable inn. He is filled with knowledge about the area, history of the house, and an infectious enthusiasm for life. – CHRIS DALLY

Old southern comfort charm, beautiful surroundings with luscious gardens…tucked away from the hustle & bustle of city life! Enjoyed my stay and overwhelmed by such warm hospitality. A must stay when planning a trip to Asheville. – CINDY MILLER

Rankin Inn is a wonderful place to stay while visiting Asheville. Very short walk to the downtown and Fred is a great host. He was so informative about the house and it’s history and also recommended some great restaurants/breweries to try.Cute rooms, very private. Will definitely be back. – MITCHELL LYONS

I would highly recommend the Rankin House in Asheville. It has a great location and an enormmous amount of history. Fred took a lot of time to explain all the details of the house and it’s role in the Civil War. What it lacks in a polished B&B is made up in full with personality. Fred was very flexible with the minimum stay requirements and check in time.
First off, Fred is absolutely brilliant :-) He has very impressively restored and created such a gem out of the Rankin house and is a great host. Whilst staying there we had home-cut fruit salad and warm muffins and coffee for breakfast (yum!) plus an amazing tour of the house with all its history and Freds furniture finds. In my opinion, this is far more quality of time VS a tour of the Biltmore estate (not that the Biltmore estate isn’t great, but Freds home represents a historical working home which in my opinion, is far more of an interesting experience). Fred is also very charming and witty and has a tale or two which he gladly shares, if one is interested. Aunt Betsy´s room is the old slave quarter which has been beautifully restored and the room and bathroom were just precious. Fred has really taken the time and energy to put a lot of love and work into the entire house and I cannot recommend the Rankin house and Fred enough to anyone who is passing through Asheville. Also, location-wise, the place couldn’t have been better. Walking distance to everything central in quirky, charming Asheville. Seriously, stay here! :-) – NOLI

This was a great stay for us! Fred was welcoming and offered some ideas for things to do around town. He had drinks stocked in the fridge and breakfast ready when we wanted it. His home is an easy walk to downtown and the historic Montford District. We hope to come back some day! – LAURA AND JAY

My wife and I absolutely loved our stay at the Rankin House. Fred was an amazing host and the house was perfect. It can’t be more than a half mile’s walk from downtown. The house itself has rich history and is gorgeous. Fred was just as nice as can be and made us feel like we were at home and we can’t wait to visit the Rankin House again.- CHAD

Staying in the oldest home in Asheville was exciting. Great neighborhood. Easy walking distance to downtown.- SAM & HANNAH

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Rankin House for a weekend in March. Fred did an excellent job restoring the home, and we could not imagine a more romantic setting for a relaxing weekend getaway. – JOHN

I went to Asheville with a friend and we both enjoyed our stay at the Rankin House. Fred made us feel at home and we used his home like we would use our own. He was great to talk to and we enjoyed him and our rooms very much. – JANE DOODA

Fred was very friendly and welcoming! We didn’t see him much as we were out and about but greatly appreciated his hospitality. =o) – AMY & GARETH CROKE

We had a great night in Asheville and it worked out perfect to stay at the Rankin House. Close distance to downtown and you can walk if you prefer or just drive less than a mile and park downtown in public parking garage. The house is unique as a very historic household and has unique touches in its decorating. Fred was great to talk to and we learned a lot about the area. We also got hot coffee and muffins in the morning which was great way to start the day! – CONNOR ALLEN

Staying in the oldest home in Asheville was exciting. Great neighborhood. Easy walking distance to downtown. – SAM & HANNAH LANGBERG

We stayed at the Rankin House Inn in the James Eugene Room and it was a fantastic experience. Fred was a great host and was more than accommodating. The room was great and had all the amenities we were looking for on our trip. The walk to downtown was very short as well so this will definitely be a place we will stay again next time we are in Asheville.- HARRISON SHANKLIN

We had a great weekend in Asheville and enjoyed our stay at Rankin house immensely. Fred is a wonderful host and the room is huge and well appointed. The huge king bed is excellent. The house has history and character. We walked downtown several times and enjoyed the convenient locations. – JOHN TICE

Fred was an amazing host for my wife and I and really made us feel welcome in his home. His laid back demeanor and easy going personality really made us feel at home and added to what was really a great visit to Asheville. We would definitely stay with Fred again on our next visit to Asheville. – DAVID BRADLEY

We arrived at Rankin House very late after a long evening on the road, and Fred had the lights on and the door open, and welcomed us with open arms. It was just like going to Grandma’s house, except Grandma never had the refrigerator stocked with local beers! Fred’s house is a huge work of love- he recovered this oldest existing house in Asheville from a ruin, and he has stories to tell about its history and his years of restoration. Rankin House Inn is not a fancy bed and breakfast, but it is more relaxed in many ways, much more flexible. Rankin House is situated very centrally in Asheville, just a short ride to downtown, Biltmore, and the Blue Ridge Parkway. It is surrounded by a lovely historic neighborhood, very nice for a Sunday morning walk followed by another cup of coffee in the swing on the huge front porch at the inn. This is a wonderfully interesting place to stay, with the warmest, easiest host you could hope to find. – REBECCA WADLEY

Great location (walked downtown), spacious and clean room. The property is just as beautiful as the restored home! Fred is obliging and generous. He sat down with us–after offering snacks and drinks–and mapped out great restaurants and fun spots for our trip. HIGHLY recommend! Fred really is a great host and made us feel very comfortable, even though our reservation was at the last minute. – KATE DOUDS

We stayed at the Rankin House Inn during our recent trip to Asheville – it was Fantastic! Fred made us feel more welcome than we could have hoped, and was chock full of suggestions and information about what to do, where to eat, and general Asheville information. Our room (Aunt Betsy) was great. Very private, and with a separate entrance so that we could come and go as we pleased without disturbing the other guests. The Inn is a 5-minute (max) walk from the heart of Asheville, so you almost couldn’t be more conveniently located. We were able to stay out into the evening, stroll home, and enjoy some of the fresh fruit salad that Fred prepares and leaves in the kitchen each evening. We’ll definitely be returning to Asheville (great city), and when we do, will make staying with Fred our first priority. – NEIL TERRY

This house is gorgeous! There’s a bathroom for each bedroom, decks and porches all around, beautiful gardens including an apple tree and fire pit. Each room has a different feel, and every detail is thought of and full of character. Our group felt right at home and enjoyed the convenience of walking to downtown within minutes. Not only is the house a pleasure, but our host, Fred was as kind and as welcoming as can be. He made sure we had everything we needed, provided us with food and beer, and even made us a fruit salad! I definitely recommend this house for large groups.- SUZANNA BAUM

What a great first experience in Asheville! Fred was welcoming, and full of great info on local events, restaurants and sights to see. We loved the Aunt Betsy room–comfortable, private and quiet. The neighborhood was great–it felt like an authentic Asheville experience tucked away but still a few blocks to downtown. We are already planning to return here for leaf season! -COLLIN CHRISTENSEN

The house was delightful– Fred was a great host. – BLAKE MESSER

Fred was such a great host – he was handy on arrival, ready to show us around, and had a thorough knowledge of the area. Even when we were looking for a good location for a morning jog – and couldn’t find good information after searching online – Fred knew a new greenway trail that fit the bill perfectly. This location is fantastic, just a few minutes walking of 2.5 long blocks to all the restaurants, breweries, and little shops you could possibly want to visit. The house is really impressive and felt like home, and coffee, snacks, and local beers were handy to meet any need we could have had. We’d highly recommend the Rankin house to anyone visiting the downtown Asheville area, the convenience offered by the location where we could park the car out front and forget about it is worth it! All of Fred’s recommendations for meals were AMAZING – especially Table for dinner in downtown and Corner Kitchen in the Biltmore Village (although it seems to be hard to find a less-than-incredible meal in Asheville.) Skip the hotels here and stay at Rankin House, we wouldn’t stay anywhere else upon return.- ELLEN CONLEY

Fred was a fantastic host. He made us feel very welcome, then allowed us as much privacy as we wanted, but he was always available for a chat. He had great recommendations for places to go downtown (it’s a really easy walk), and he had muffins, fruit salad, and coffee waiting for us each morning. You can tell that Fred put a lot of care and love into this old house, and the results are beautiful. Ask him about the renovation process, and to see some of the pictures of the work-in-progress. We stayed in the Aunt Betsy room, and we had our own private entrance from a backyard balcony, so we didn’t feel that we were disturbing other guests when we came back late at night. Definitely recommended. – BECCA CLEMENT

The Rankin House is an amazing, historic home. The room was clean and the bed was comfy – I slept great! It’s close enough to downtown to easily walk to an incredible variety of shops, restaurants, and breweries. In fact, I didn’t use my car all weekend. I will definitely keep Rankin House in mind for any future trips to Asheville. – RYAN SOURS

The Aunt Betsy Room at the Rankin was awesome!!! Everything was just as advertised and we were extremely comfortable for our weekend stay. Fred is a very gracious and welcoming host and made us feel home right away. The home is in a quite little neighborhood just outside downtown and we were able to walk to bars, restaurants etc. I would 100% stay here again if I ever go back to Asheville. – PAXTON HEAD

Fred was an amazing resource for the local attractions, and the Rankin House was very charming. Fred offered us the utmost in privacy and convenience in our exploration of Asheville. I cannot imagine a better location from which to embark, as the Rankin House is just a few minutes’ walk to downtown. Coupling that with Fred’s great breakfast and ample beverage selection, this bed & breakfast is a must-visit if you’re visiting downtown Asheville.- LEE NUTINI

Made a last-minute trip to Asheville and was fortunate enough to book a room at the Rankin House! Charming, clean, and walkable distance to downtown. Fred was a warm and friendly host, as well as a knowledgeable source for restaurant recommendations. Highly recommend! – ELIZABETH LANE

Fred was extremely welcoming! The listing was exactly as described. Would highly recommend. – GEOFFREY BOONE

The Rankin House Inn is a wonderful way to experience the charm of Asheville. It’s location is perfectly situated in a quiet historic neighborhood, but within walking distance of delicious restaurants and lively bars. The rooms at the Inn are just as you would expect – cozy, comfortable, and very inviting. And Fred! What a fantastic host. His hospitality was second to none and our trip would not have been the same without his local insight. We will most certainly be staying here again. – AMBER STONER

We could not have asked for a better host, room, or location! Fred was very flexible and when we had to shift our visit to the right by a day, he was more than accommodating! Fred’s information about town, his passion about the house and his cheerful attitude maybe the place as welcoming as any home. The room was clean, very homey, and perfectly located to anywhere in town–both for driving and walking. We plan to stay here again on our next trip through Asheville! – KATE DOWNS

Fred really is the host with the most! Our room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable, the house is gorgeous and Fred has renovated it to a very high standard. Nothing was too much trouble for Fred and his easy manner and wit made our stay extra enjoyable, ask Fred anything about the area and he knows the answer!! Highly recommended
– STEPHEN BINKS

The Rankin House is beautiful and historic, and so convenient to everything downtown. The amenities are simple but more than accommodating. Fred is a genuine host and knows how to provide the careful balance for guests. He made me feel welcome throughout and treated me to a brief history lesson when I arrived. I felt as though I was right at home during my stay. There is a very positive aura about the place and my only regret is I could not stay longer. I’ve visited Asheville several times and the Rankin House is easily my favorite place to stay.- CHRIS FILLIO

The Rankin House is a great place to stay within walking distance of downtown Asheville, but the neighborhood makes you feel like you’re a long way from the bustle of the city. Fred was very welcoming and accommodating with a lovely room, comfortable bed, and use of anything in the refrigerator. Ladies, he even had a hairdryer in the bathroom! We felt right at home. He sets up a great breakfast every morning including fresh fruit salad, warm muffins, yogurt. This has been Fred’s home for more than 20 years and he has put a lot of time and love into renovating this historic house. There are also many beautiful antiques throughout the house. We really enjoyed looking at pictures and talking to him about the work he has done. We would highly recommend the Rankin House especially if you have a love of historic homes. – ERIK NAGLE

The Rankin House is easily the most interesting, fascinating thing we “did” on our anniversary weekend away to Asheville. What an amazing house!! To start…the location was more than ideal…tucked in a neighborhood, right next to downtown Asheville, among many fantastically flipped historic homes (so you must walk around and scope out the neighboring renovated houses!). We were able to get to and from downtown without incident (or car!!) and grabbed an Uber to/from the Grove Park Inn (8-10 mins away for approx. $8-10). The location allowed us to thoroughly enjoy ourselves without worry after perusing Asheville’s many brew pubs. :) The Inn itself was professionally renovated by the innkeeper…and you can really feel the love through the attention to detail, special “Asheville” touches (i.e. the unique bricks & “curb” stairs leading to the gorgeous front porch), and stories the innkeeper has regarding the home. Most of our photos from our trip were of the house!! We loved our room decor, size, & location (Squire Billy) and experienced a very quiet space at night / early morning. Additionally, Fred was an amazing host willing to entertain all of our many questions regarding both the house and the Asheville scene (he could easily be a tour guide…complete with maps!). He was always around if you needed him…but also gave us our space to celebrate our special weekend. Definitely recommending the Rankin House to all of our friends…near and far…and absolutely planning to stay here again soon!! :)

– JAMIE WHEATLEY

Our stay was great! The house was charming and incredibly clean. Fred was an awesome host, so friendly and helpful in giving directions. He makes great fruit salad in the mornings! The house also has convenient street parking. Our room was comfortable, clean, and warm, even during Asheville’s first snow. Would highly recommend! – CAROLINE LOWERY

Great neighborhood, close to dining and nightlife. Comfortable rooms with historic charm. Recommended as the price is great for location. – ZHANNA SEGLIE

The Rankin House Inn was the perfect place to stay for our first visit to Asheville. The house has so much character and charm. Upon our arrival, we felt right at home. The Innkeeper, Fred, was very friendly and easy to talk to. He shared some of the history of the house, gave us a tour, provided us with a map of town, and showed us to our room. We loved how close it was to downtown…only about a 10-15 minute walk. This was our first Airbnb experience as well as our first B & B experience and we are definitely planning to stay at the Rankin House Inn during our next visit to Asheville! – BROOKE DAMRON

Fred was a great host and the house is a fantastic place to stay! Outside of down town but a short walk, and the home has a great history. Make sure to try the muffins and fruit salad for breakfast! They were both wonderful. We had a great time in Asheville!
– CHRISTINE CRAIG

Fred was a fantastic host and the Rankin house he has restored is a beautiful place to stay. Warm muffins and coffee every morning and a 3 block walk to downtown. Fred has great knowledge about the town and some great insights about local history. Highly recommended. – TOM POCRNICH